My posts have been thin on the ground because I am in the process of publishing my first book. I haven’t forgotten anyone or your lovely blogs. Yes, I wrote a book! I can’t believe it either and I’m really excited about it. For those of you who are interested, I’ll keep you posted. It’s my first fiction novel and has been considerably harder than writing a blog! Through this process I have been able to express a creative part of me that has been unlocked somehow through God’s grace. He has given me words to describe events that I think need to be told……more to come…..

On a different note I felt compelled to respond to the shocking news of the shootings in France. I think the impact of the savagery of this act is harder hitting because there were small children involved. I and many others I am sure are reeling from the news. It is not often that the news leaves such a bitter feeling of injustice. It’s hard to find the best outlet when something so shocking has occurred but I wanted to write a post here. Maybe some of you can share some of your thoughts here too.

As I scan the news and ask the ultimate question of ‘why?’ I am reminded that the bible tells us that the days are evil, therefore we are to make the most of every opportunity and to live wisely. Hard, isn’t it? I know I don’t always live wisely, although I try and I’m sure I don’t make the most of every opportunity. But that is our call as sons and daughters of the living God.

I feel anger and pain for the little girls who had to watch their parents brutally killed, the older of the two was also attacked horrifically and the youngest was left hiding beneath her lifeless mother. As mother myself this image shocks me to the core. I can’t describe the feelings that have poured through my heart in the last few hours. Where will they go? How will they get through this? How could this happen? Why? Who?

Yet ,we are reminded through the evil of this world to pray, pray hard for the lost, pray for those innocent girls and to be his light in a dark world. The days are numbered and we are ambassadors of his truth, we are light, we are his grace in a world that is crying out for a saviour.

Friends I ask you tonight to pray for those precious girls, for God’s peace and for his healing hand on their lives. Pray and press into his words that as the darkness increases, so too does the light and his goodness. Let us be part of the answer, let us walk wisely and do good so that people will see that he is good.

