‘Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.’ Ephesians 3:20,21

This verse caught my thoughts this morning. I fail to remember daily that he can do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine. I have had many prophecies and promises for me and my family which I have just ‘shelved’ in the ‘not sure if that will happen’ or ‘later but I’ll forget about it for now’ parts of my mind. If I’m honest it is not really what God intended. When he shows us things they are for us to hold on to and to run with, to run towards the goal set before us.

When we do that it fuels our days with hope and it fires us up to serve him, to love him, to hear him. His glory is to be reflected through all generations. I’ve been looking into my family tree and I have a great, great (maybe great) grandfather who was a well-known hymn writer but no one in the family can remember the details. He was also a minister. I’m convinced that God has had a hand on our family, despite many difficulties, down through the generations. He never lets go! The genealogy in the bible seems endless in the Old Testament verses and it is tempting to skip over them but it reminds me of how important it was, and is still, to God. My prayers for our kids will not just affect them but possibly generations to come. How amazing is that? And if I think about it clearly it should spur me into action and get me praying more.

But we so often lose sight of his promises and his words in the cares and worries of our daily lives. Let’s take hold of his promises today and run with the hope that he can do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine. Yes, even more than we ask!

 

 

