I’ve been thinking recently about what it means to live life to the full. When God said that this is what he intended for us I often think it in terms of happiness but I’ve learned that life in all its fullness involves vulnerability, disappointments and sometimes pain. When Jesus died for our salvation he died to save our souls from death so that we would not have to pay the price. Our salvation is a gift given through great suffering and life in all its fullness is joy and it is also suffering. I read a blog this morning that seemed to answer so many of my questions and thoughts about vulnerability and it was as though God was speaking directly to me. Do you ever have those moments where God just cuts to the chase and meets you where you stand, questioning and wondering? I’ve had a few recently and it’s sobering stuff. Here’s the blog post if you want to take a look:

http://pastorjonathanmartin.com/uncategorized/unguarded-a-life-without-armor/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+JonathanMartin+%28Jonathan+Martin%29 

Jonathan’s thoughts on vulnerability reminded me of how God breaks us down so that he can use us. His strength is made perfect in our weakness. He needs us to be vulnerable to be a channel of his peace in a world where people have so many barriers, defenses and ways of coping. His desire is for us to live life in all its fullness in our weakness as well as in our strength, in our joy as well as in our pain and to never give up hope.

His ways are perfect, his thoughts higher than ours, to him be the glory.

 

 

