Lord Howe Island

“Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4

I have read this verse several times in the past few days and realised that it was one that God wanted me to think about, to meditate on. It is a beautiful verse and used to be a favourite when I was younger but sometimes you forget verses or others seem more significant at different stages in life. It is so beautifully written and shows so much of his loving care. What got me thinking was the idea that each promise from God often come with a pre-requisite, an action required from us. Let’s have a look at some of them….

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:29

“But all who listen to me will live in peace, untroubled by fear of harm.” Proverbs 1:33

If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” Romans 10:9

“If you accept my words and store up my commands within you, turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding—
then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God.” Proverbs 2:1,2,5

The last two start with an “if.” So these promises ask that we first take action. Blessings from God come each day of our lives but our faith is not a passive one. It is not something that just happens to us. We need to actively seek, trust, listen, delight, come, confess, accept. He longs to give us the desires of our heart when those desires are in line with his but more importantly he wants us to delight in him, to take refuge in him and to actively seek him first.

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matthew 6:33

