“People with the strongest and healthiest sense of calling are not obsessed with their calling. They are preoccupied with the Caller. With a clear vision of a good and competent and loving God before me, the significance of my own tiny part in his world is safely and manageably held.

I need to be inspired. I love inspiration.

To have my mind racing and my heart beating fast over glorious possibilities is very close to the summit of life experience for me.

We were made to live by inspiration.

Callings can only be maintained if they are inspired.”

John Ortberg speaks about calling being strongly linked to inspiration and I think we all need inspiration in all that we do. That’s why we read blogs, read books, go for walks, take photographs, write, watch films, spend time with people, run, travel, go to galleries, skydive………whatever it is that makes your heart race with excitement.

I’ve been chewing over the idea of calling for some years and it is a word I’ve strangely heard more times this week than I care to count. As a teacher, writer, photographer and a (new) theologian you can imagine that I’m not too sure where I see myself in the next 5/10/20 years! I feel sure that I have some sort of a calling but am not yet sure what it is. Does this make sense?

I really enjoy the variety in people’s lives. When I look at friends and church members I see such wonderful diversity in their giftings.

If you have a minute, stop by and tell us a bit about your calling, your journey, how you got to where you are  or what inspires you………

12-way formation with video over Chicagoland S...
