There seems to be so much suffering in people’s lives at the moment. I have a friend who is slowly losing a father to cancer, some are struggling with their marriages or have lost an unborn child. When I read your blogs (and some of you I haven’t met) I see the pain in lives which are intimately connected with God and it prompts me to pray for each situation.

I guess my point is that the bible tells us that in this world we WILL have trouble but to take heart for he has overcome the world. He is MIGHTY to save and he cares about every detail of our lives. Pain, as C.S. Lewis famously and wisely once said, is God’s megaphone to rouse a deaf world. It is so true but it requires that we draw alongside those who suffer, mourn with those who mourn and to embrace those who need it. We are called to meet people where they are at, saved or not saved and it means a surrender to self and a constant drawing on the strength of our loving Father.

My pray for anyone reading this and struggling with pain or praying for friends and family who are ill or suffering, or dealing with grief of any kind is this:

The LORD your God is with you,
the Mighty Warrior who saves.
He will take great delight in you;
in his love he will no longer rebuke you,
but will rejoice over you with singing.

Zephaniah 3:17 was given to me by one of my closest friends who is now with her maker and it is a loving comfort to know that the father is OUR mighty warrior and that he REJOICES over us with singing.

