We’ve been kindly given a nespresso coffee maker recently and much as it looks good, slick, shiny and makes fast coffee I kinda miss the old slow drip drip of the coffee filter. As I stood outside this morning for a breath of fresh air God reminded me that I’m expecting espresso style results from him, fast, strong and actually makes me slightly queezy! His responses to our prayers are sometimes more like the coffee filter effect, slower than anticipated, gentler and with, in my opinion, a more pleasant result!

I have spoken to many people recently who are waiting……waiting for change, waiting for a calling to become clearer, waiting for relief from suffering, waiting to start something new, waiting………

I think the emphasis in the first sentence here is on the word ‘fast’. We want results, answers and we want them now if not yesterday. We have been waiting for a change in a situation in our lives which has not yet changed and I think God would say slow down, listen to my voice, look at the things I have put around you and trust that my timing is perfect.

If God has not changed a situation it is sometimes because he needs us to learn tough lessons, other times it is because he can bless us or we can bless others where we are and sometimes we are just not mature enough to take on what he wants to give to us.

He has the bigger picture in the palm of his hand and we see a hazy puzzle piece and wonder where it should go. We plan and he redirects. The frustrations are intense until we learn to rest in him, in his timing and his plans. Easier said than done, hey?

I’ll leave you with a verse which has been shared with me time and time again and it sums up his vision of our lives:

A letter to the exiles:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

 

 

 

